April 16, 2009

  • *SUNDAY BRUNCH FOR 7*

    I’m so behind on my entries!  I first wanna thank my few remaining rabid fans for checking my site daily for updates.  You remind me that there are still a few people who still read me and make me feel guilty for not posting things.  Thanks in particular to my fan(stalker) in Arizona, and my Edison, NJ fan(stalker).  Ok then, so here’s a quickie entree…. 

    Two Sundays ago I hosted my gays for a home-cooked brunch.  Seven hungry mouths to feed, including mine, so that makes 10 appetites.  No problem.  Here’s what I did:

    CIMG8663
    TURKEY CLUB WRAPS:  Roasted deli turkey breast, a smear of mayo, slices of crisp bacon, mounds of sliced avocado.  What’s NOT to love here??
     
    CIMG8662
    BROWN SUGAR CINNAMON FRENCH TOAST.  I cheated here, and used Pepperidge Farms’ Brown Sugar Cinnamon bread, which I toasted, then dipped in beaten egg, and a dusting of powdered sugar.  Batch cooking of pancakes/french toast/waffles always frazzles me, so I had to take the easy way out.  At least it wasn’t Eggo Waffles.  Next time I will try a baked french toast bread pudding.  It’s easiest to let the oven do the work rather than you standing over a pan on the stove.  

    CIMG8665
    INDIVIDUAL EGG SOUFFLE CUPS.  I created this little egg cup concoction.  I sprayed ramekin dishes, layered in toast that I cubed, roasted asparagus, crumbled cooked bacon, poured in beaten eggs, and baked at 350 for 30 mins, then topped with some shredded Monterey Jack cheese for the last 5 minutes.  The mixture actually RISES in the oven.  It’s a lovely sight, like a muffin top.  It was tasty, but I thought the egg was overcooked.  Next time I’d try it at a lower temp like 325, or cook it more in a water bath in the oven.  I give it 7 in taste, but a 9 in ingenuity. 

    CIMG8667
    And finally, as an after-meal refresher, fresh blended STRAWBERRY-BANANA SMOOTHIES.  I simply cut up strawberries and ripe bananas and blended them with orange juice. 

    Simple.  Lovely.  Brunchy.

Comments (8)

  • i’m at work and these pictures are literally making my stomach growl. i don’t cook and i wish i did. you make it sound so easy! can i just ask what kind of bread you used for the turkey club wraps and did you have to do anything to it (the bread part i mean). i would love to try it out. esp since it looks and sounds like something i may be able to do.

  • OH MY GOD. That stuff looks so good.. and SIMPLE! I need to start taking pictures of my culinary creations. Mmmm.

    Figures that you’d catch up on your foodie times on the same morning that I forget my lunch.. hahaha

  • @marichu77 - 

    Hi Marichu! Long time no hear from you! For the wraps, I just buy the large flour tortilla/burrito wraps from the supermarket (usually by the shredded cheeses/sour cream section). MISSION brand, or CHI-CHI’S. I keep them refrigerated normally, so before eating, I heat a pan and put each wrap flat on the pan for like a minute or two to warm & soften it up. I make scrambled egg and cheese wraps too. VERY easy. Try it!

  • @upandoutward - 

    Yes, you must take pics of your food! Delicious creations make the world (and tummies) go round. And I used your smoothie tips by using generous amounts of OJ. Before that, I used to use milk with my strawberries, until I realized I was basically just making Strawberry Milk!

  • Looks like a lovely brunch Jason!

  • The food pictures alone is worth waiting for.  I wish I can taste some.  I have so busy at work that I am way behind in blogs also. Someday you need to throw a Xanga parties and invite us all to sample the yummies.  hehe.

  • The Hotel Careyfornia might just have to splurge to send you out here to be our Executive Chef!

  • This will not succeed in reality, that is what I think. 2 4 6. This won’t succeed in actual fact, that is what I believe. go 3 site. To my mind everybody have to glance at this. 9 2 go. Wow, there is so much effective info above!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *